Jones-Bowman Leadership Award


The Jones-Bowman Leadership Award Program makes financial awards to undergraduate college students committed to developing their leadership skills. The program honors the memory and leadership of Principal Chief Leon Jones and Mr. James Bowman, who were founding members of the Board of Directors of Cherokee Preservation Foundation.


Each year they participate in the program, Jones-Bowman Fellows receive funding of approximately $4,000 for individual leadership learning plans they develop with their mentor.

The 2014/2015 Jones-Bowman Fellows are Kayla Smith, Carmen Johnson, Alexa Armachain, Josh Gossett, Devyn Smith, and Tim Swayney. They are being mentored by Joey Owle, Kelsey Owle, and Kevin Jackson, all of whom were formerly Fellows. Steering Committee members who help lead the program are Roseanna Belt and Carmaleta Monteith.